Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission Members by Region

The Commission works to encourage appropriate ceremonies and activities throughout the State relating to the observance of the legal holiday honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday. It also works to promote among the people of NC an awareness and appreciation of the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.



Region 1

Commissioner Appointing Official
Derek Partee Governor
Warren Turner Governor

Region 2

Commissioner Appointing Official
Anitra Bailey Speaker of the House
Anthony Posey Governor
Clarence Henderson Governor
Dumas A. Harshaw Governor
Elton Futrell Governor
Larry M. Jones Governor
Phillip Smith Governor
Tony L. Mitchell Governor
Troy Kickler Senate Pro-Tem

Region 3

Commissioner Appointing Official
Kenneth Freeman Governor
Vancine Sturdivant Speaker of the House

Region 4

Commissioner Appointing Official
Jacquie Jeffers Governor